Studying

Home Forums Due November 5 Studying

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    hmhellen
    Participant

When I’m studying for an exam I usually start by going through my notes and marking important concepts or terms. I will sometimes make flashcards or a study guide based on the contents of my notes. I will then take a break and come back to the material later. This helps me avoid cramming and makes it so I can actually remember concepts after the exam. To test my knowledge of the material I try to write down everything I can remember without looking at any material and then I’ll later compare it to my notes. I think the most important thing I’ve learned is to not leave all the studying for the day before the exam and to review material throughout the semester.

hcbass
    Participant

I also like to review my notes and then take some time before coming back to it so I have time to absorb the information before going back and not cramming.

aknobloch
    Participant

I like the concept of writing everything you can remember down to test your knowledge. i have done that a couple of times before, maybe i need to go back to doing that. i do have the bad habit of putting off studying though until a couple of days before an exam.

jdkelly6
    Participant

I really need to study more actively like you said you do with testing your knowledge then studying what you didn’t have down. I pretty much just read over notes now but I should really start to do it in a more proactive and efficient way.

imatsui
    Participant

I totally agree with you. When you cram, you just forget everything after the exam and not going to learn anything actually.

jltusten
    Participant

I agree, coming back to something really helps me actually remember it. I usually end up cramming anyway though. Days should have more hours.

bmarshall6
    Participant