FTT PROMPT DUE OCTOBER 4th by 11:59pm

After reading Greenberg’s chapters on salmon and sea bass has your perspective on fish cultivation or capture fishing changed?
In a post of at least 250 words, share your thoughts on farmed vs. wild fish for the consumer table. Does it matter if the world eats farmed or wild fish? What do you think ‘sustainable’ means for the present and the future?

Submit your comment by 11:59 pm on Tuesday night and by Wednesday contribute to the discussion online by responding to at least two other posts.

49 thoughts on “FTT PROMPT DUE OCTOBER 4th by 11:59pm”

1. After reading Greenberg’s chapters on salmon and sea bass, my perspective on fish cultivation (aquaculture/fish farming) has changed. I am new to fisheries education and did not have many opinions on fish cultivation before these chapters due to lacking the knowledge necessary for making an informed opinion. As I’ve become more educated, I understand better the need for preserving wild fish populations, including salmon and sea bass, due to the shortcomings and unsustainability of fish farming. Relying solely/primarily on fish farming reduces genetic diversity, genetic integrity, fish health, and quality [e.g., differences in a wild versus domesticated diet]. It is unsustainable due to the anthropogenic activity being unable to replicate the lifestyles of wild populations [among other reasons]. Therefore, it matters that the world eats wild fish. Increasing the output of farmed fish and the reliance of the consumer market on the quantity and low cost of farmed fish increases consumer demand and preference for farmed fish over their wild counterparts; this creates the potential for a decrease in motivation and incentive for preserving wild populations. Sustainable for the present means effectively satisfying the needs of current generations in a maintainable, reduced-risk manner. Sustainability for the future means effectively meeting the needs of present generations without distur