Shifting Baselines

Home Forums Due October 8 by 11:59pm Shifting Baselines

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Isabella Erickson
    Participant

When Greenberg explained what shifting baselines is it sounded depressingly familiar. For years there has been less and less salmon to be caught in Chignik, until we did not fish at all in 2018. This year many fishermen were simply happy to fish at all, even the first opening was a month later than normal. What is happening now is very different from the time that my father talks about, when he once made one haul and loaded up three boats. I have been fishing with my dad for ten years and we have never totally filled up the main fish hold, never mind opened up the Sunday hold, even on the “good’ years. In fact, there has been a running joke on my boat for the past few of years that the thousands of fish making it to the weir must have dug a tunnel because we certainly are not seeing them. It does not help that Fish and Game always seem to shoot for the low end of their escapement goal, but that is another issue.
    I think that shifting baselines played a large part of what happened to northern cod, or perhaps it was less shifting and just differing baselines. I can see the baseline shifting for people who have been fishing for generations, each new generation trusting their experience to set the baseline rather than using their parent’s or grandparent’s baseline. However, a rich captain who just bought a boat a few years ago is going to have a different baseline than the one who has been fishing their entire life. The scientists are going to have different baselines as well because they have been researching this for a relatively short amount of time. None of this is helped by the fishermen and the scientists seemingly not communicating with each other, probably because of the fishermen not trusting the scientists and the scientists thinking that they know better than the fishermen.